Skip to Main Content

BASD Library Information Technology Research Centers: Lib. Curriculum

Articles in Education on Libraries K-12.

PA Library Common Core Curriculum

The Library Model Curriculum is based on the Pennsylvania Core Standards for English Language Arts, Reading and Writing in Science & Technology/Technical Subjects, Reading and Writing in Social Studies and History and the Pennsylvania Academic Standards in Business, Computer and Information Technology.

Understanding by Design curriculum model uses three stages of development:  Stage 1 Desired Results, Stage 2 Assessment Evidence and Stage 3 Learning Plan.  The document posted on the PDE SAS Portal concentrates on Stage One:  Desired Results, which provides established goals (the 44 PA Common Core Standards and Academic Standards for which librarians take primary instructional responsibility), the big ideas of understanding and the essential questions that prompt understanding and the competencies/skills that students should be able to perform.

American Libraries : school libraries transform learning

Professional Library Organizations