LibGuides: East Hills Middle School: Primary Sources

POWER Library

Click on the image to access POWER Library. Remember, if you're doing this from home, you will need a public library card to access the site. Don't forget the 24/7 chat with a librarian!

US History in Context

Infotopia - Primary Source

Infotopia - Primary Sources
Infotopia created a site with 21 primary source sites on different areas of history in the US and as well as Australia and New Zealand.

Civil Rights Primary Sources

Civil Rights Primary Sources
From Stanford's "Martin Luther King and the Global Freedom Struggle".
Civil Rights Primary Sources #2
From PBS' "American Experience".
Civil Rights Movement Veterans

New York Public Library Historic Maps

NYPL Historic Maps

Searching Google for Primary Sources

Google Primary Source Search

Primary vs Secondary

via Cheekylibrarian

Government Collections

Library of Congress - Teacher's Pages
This site offers teacher guides on how to use primary sources as well as offering different ways to find primary sources, link to the American Memory database.
American Memory
Primary sources, mostly in PDF format, from throughout American history (ex: Abraham Lincoln's childhood math work!).
DocsTeach
Thousands of primary sources from the National Archives.
Smithsonian Archives
Look at archives from all of the Smithsonian Museums.
National Jukebox
From the Library of Congress. Listen to historical recordings of spoken word poetry and songs (both instrumental and with a vocalist).
FBI Vault
The FBI's digital reading room. These are files that have been scanned in on topics like Civil Rights, World War II, and unexplained phenomenon.

Local Primary Sources

*Primary sources collected by Moravian College including art, documents, journals, music, and more.

BAPL Bethlehem Room
Primary sources collected by the BAPL including maps, newspapers, documents, and photographs.
The Morning Call Archives
The online archives go back to 1/1/1984.
Asa Packer LibGuide
A LibGuide made by Lehigh University containing information on Asa Packer and his family. Many of the documents held in Special Collections have been digitized and are available here.
Digital Collections from the Pennsylvania State Library
Focusing on PA history (including mining and Ben Franklin), the Civil War, WWI, and Fort Necessity.

National Library of Medicine - Primary Sources

From the site - "Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online archive of biomedical books and videos. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich, historical resources."